Yes, I am still sucking air.  I totally blame my new Kindle and a mid-winter funk for my deplorable lack of posts lately.  Seriously, those damn Kindles are like crack.  Any book you want, right at your fingertips.  Amazon even kindly stores your credit card on file  for even quicker and easier access to their insanely large collection of books.  I think my family and friends are secretly planning an intervention.  Below, I’ve listed some of the books I’ve read since Christmas.  I seem to have been on an urban fantasy kick, though some different genres have piqued my interest, as well. They are rated from one to five stars, just for shits and giggles.  I’m too busy reading to give full book reviews, people.  Sorry. Or not.

Mistborn: The Final Empire   by Brandon Sanderson    ****

Paksenarrion 3:  Oath of Gold   by Elizabeth Moon     ***

Hunting Ground  by Patricia Briggs  (reread)   ***

The Five Love Languages  by Gary Chapman   **

Skinwalker  (Jane Yellowrock, Book 1)  by Faith Hunter   ****

The Alchemist  by Paulo Coehlo   ****

Buddha in Blue Jeans: An Extremely Short Zen Guide to Sitting Quietly  by Tai Sheridan  **

Roast Mortem: A Coffeehouse Mystery  by Cleo Coyle   ***

Pale Blue Dot  by Carl Sagan   ****

Neverwhere  by Neil Gaiman         (reread for the third time)  ****

Friday’s Master Drink Recipe Book  by unknown   *****

The Artist’s Way  by Julia Cameron   ****

Reading the last book on the list was rather ironic, as I was too absorbed in reading to try any of the wonderful ideas suggested by the author to bring out my “inner artist.”   I also downloaded Spanish and Italian courses and vocabulary lists, Chuck Wendig’s 500 Ways to Be a Better Writer, and several cookbooks, thinking that this would be the year that I really improve myself.  Nah- too busy reading.   It figures that the one title I gave five stars was the mixology book.  Might need an intervention there, too…

Right now, I am debating between starting Jim Butcher‘s Codex Alera series and Oscar Wilde’s  The Importance of Being Earnest.   My friend has also started dragging me to cardio kickboxing classes, which means about three fewer hours to read each week, if I go to both the Monday and Wednesday sessions.  Decisions, decisions.

On a totally unrelated note, I have submitted for your perusal the following link to a wonderfully geeky site discussing 70 upcoming sci-fi and fantasy movies coming out this year.  TTFN!

70 Science Fiction and Fantasy Movies to Watch Out for in 2012

The Hobbit