One of my favorite artists is punk cabaret singer/songwriter Amanda Palmer, formerly of  The Dresden Dolls.   She has a strong, unique voice that reaches out and grabs you and an honest, kiss-my-ass-if-you-don’t-like-me attitude onstage.   Her writing reaches out to the misfits, the geeks and those feeling pressured by society to be perfect, to fit in and do what’s expected.  She is a talented pianist and has also produced a very clever album of Radiohead covers on the UKELELE,  of all instruments.   While part of The Dresden Dolls, she was partnered up with drummer Brian Viglione, an incredible musician in his own right and the perfect complement to Amanda.  I have included several of their videos and several of hers solo.   As a side note, she married one of my favorite authors, Neil Gaiman, last year.  Even if this isn’t your usual type of music, give it a try.  You may just become a fan yourself.

